Managing Users

Administrator -

A description of users and how to manage them.

Users

Users are people who are registered (i.e. have a user account) in your enterprise account. Basically, they can benefit from the XMedius Cloud Services according to both your enterprise subscription and their user permissions:
  • XM Fax Service: send and receive faxes, and monitor their faxes.
  • XM SendSecure Service: create SafeBoxes and manage/monitor all their SafeBoxes.

Users can also typically manage most of their account information and settings through the Web portal of your Enterprise Account.

Administrators

An administrator is a user that has the additional rights to manage the Enterprise Account and Service settings. These rights are provided with the "Administrator" Role in the user profile settings. Administrators are especially responsible of creating and managing all user accounts within the Enterprise Account.

Creating User Accounts

An administrator can add users in the following different ways:
Note: If your corporate environment requires that your users will mainly use the email-to-fax functionality, you do not necessarily require to create user accounts for them or synchronize them from your Active Directory. For more information, see Allowing Unlisted Users to Send Faxes by Email

Account Creation Generalities

Grouping

During the user account creation process, the administrator will have to select a group for the user. For more information on the purposes of groups, see Managing Groups

Fax Number Assignment

If the Enterprise Account includes the XM Fax Service, the administrator may need to assign the user to an available fax number. This can be done either during the user account creation process or afterwards. For more information about fax number assignment, see Managing Fax Numbers.

Notifications

Users are always and automatically notified by email when the system requires to interact with them.

Also, by default, when a user account creation is complete, the user will automatically receive a Welcome email (one per subscribed service) confirming the account creation and providing all information to connect to the portal and get started with each service.
Note: Enterprise administrators have the option to disable the sending of such Welcome emails (in Enterprise Settings) to be able to notify themselves their users through a separate process using a custom notification content.

Adding Users by Invitation

This method is the best (and recommended) use case for creating single or multiple user accounts from scratch. It allows the administrator to invite several users (in one shot) to create their account. The administrator needs to enter minimal information and the invitation process lets users complete their account creation by themselves.

The invitation form can be accessed by administrators via the Users page or the User Invitations page. Here is a summary of the invitation process:
  1. The administrator enters the email addresses of the users to invite, adjusts the available settings and sends the invitations.
  2. All recipients receive an email invitation with a link to a self-enrolment form they will use to create their account.
  3. Once invitations are sent, the list of invitees is shown in the User Invitations page. Each invitation is listed here until the invitee completes the account creation.
    Note: The invitation link sent to the invitee always expires after 7 days.

Adding Users by Direct Creation

This method provides a way to create user accounts one by one without having to wait for users to respond to an invitation. It also allows the administrator to fully manage the user account settings at creation.

The user account creation form is accessed by administrators via the Users page. The minimum required fields and options to set are marked with an asterisk (*), and the account is created once the administrator validates the settings by clicking Add at the bottom of the page.

Modifying User Accounts

Once user accounts have been created, their username and email address cannot be modified. The role and group can only be changed by an administrator and all other information and settings can be changed by the users themselves (with some exceptions in Active Directory synchronization context).
  • Users can access and modify their own settings via the User Profile page; they can change their own password under the Security page.
  • Administrators can manage all existing user accounts via the Users page (access and modify user settings, delete user account, change user password or request user password change by email).
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk