Sending Files Securely using the XM SendSecure Web Application

Administrator -

This article explains how to create a SafeBox from the XM SendSecure Web Application in order to securely send files. It also provides additional information about managing recipients and favorites while creating the SafeBox.

Creating a SafeBox

To create a new SafeBox from the XM SendSecure Web Application:

  1. Log in on the Web Portal, access your XM SendSecure home page and click New.
  2. Enter the information of your recipient:
    • Email address is always mandatory.
    • Phone Number (direct line only) may be required according to the selected Security Options and only if the recipient is a Guest.

    You can add as many recipients as you need. For more details, see Managing Recipients.

  3. Compose your message:
    Subject This is the only information (in addition to your identity) that will be disclosed in the notifications sent to all SafeBox participants in order to summarize the purpose of the exchange. Adding a Subject is however optional.
    Message The text you enter here will be only visible by the participants accessing the SafeBox. The Message is optional if you add at least one Attachment.
    Attachments The files you upload here will be only downloadable by the participants who are accessing the SafeBox. Attachments are optional if you write a Message.
  4. In Security Options, select the Security Profile to use according to the context/content of your SafeBox exchange.
    Note: Pay attention to the SafeBox creation behaviors that may change depending on the selected Security Profile (among others, due to the Guest authentication method or the use of a SafeBox Administrator Alias).
  5. Optionally:
    1. Select More if you need to see and adjust the Security Options in detail (if you have the required permissions).
    2. Choose the language in which guests will be notified and will access the SafeBox once it is created (this has no effect on recipients that are XM SendSecure users: they will always be notified in the language that is set in their account).
  6. Click Send.
The SafeBox is now created and includes your message and attachments.
  • The recipients will be notified by email to access the SafeBox in order to securely retrieve its content.
  • On your side, the SafeBox appears at the top of your SafeBox list. As its Owner, you can access its content and further manage it (as well as Privileged Participants): see Managing SafeBoxes in XM SendSecure Web Application).

Managing Recipients

Once they are added to the list (and before finalizing the SafeBox creation), you can easily edit the information of each recipient (or remove them) and optionally add them as Favorites for later reuse.

Recipient Information

Overall, the recipient information that is required or at least relevant in the context of XM SendSecure includes:

An email address Mandatory.
A phone number At least one direct line number may be required depending on Security Options (and only if the contact is a Guest), otherwise it is optional.
A contact's name For display (optional), to better identify the person in email notifications and Web interfaces.
A company name Also for display (optional).
Other phone numbers Other optional direct line numbers of any type (Cell, Office, Home...) that will be potentially usable by the recipient (Guest) to receive SafeBox authentication code.

Managing Non-Compliant Recipients

If a recipient is displayed on red background, it means that a phone number (at least one) is required. You will not be able to send your message as long as this recipient is left in that state. To solve this issue, you can edit the recipient to enter the information that is missing.

At worst, if you do not have a phone number for the recipient, you may need to adjust the Security Options – if you are allowed to and if you can assume moderating the intended authentication methods for all recipients according to your secure exchange context.

Editing or Removing Recipients

To edit the recipient information, just click on the icon at the right of the recipient, and click OK once your modifications are done.
Note: If the recipient is a Favorite, any change you perform here will be remembered in the Favorite information.

To remove a recipient from the list, simply click on the icon at the right of the recipient.

Privileged Participants

You can promote as Privileged Participant any recipient that is an XM SendSecure user from your Enterprise Account. By doing so, you allow this person to benefit from the same administrative role as you (the Owner) on the SafeBox you are creating. You can also remove privileges from a recipient that was already promoted.

To achieve this, toggle the or icon (respectively not privileged/privileged) at the left of the recipient.
Tip: You can setup options to automatically promote recipients as Privileged Participants when you add them to a SafeBox: either for specific favorites (see below) or for any user of your Enterprise Account (through your XM SendSecure personal options).
Note: The Privileged Participant role can still be granted or removed through the Manage Participants option when the SafeBox is already created (see Managing SafeBoxes in XM SendSecure Web Application).

Auto-Added Privileged Participants

Depending on the selected Security Profile, a predefined set of Privileged Participants may be automatically added to the SafeBox, for example to meet the requirements of a recurrent team workflow.

By design, these participants cannot be removed when creating the SafeBox.

Using/Managing Favorites

You can add recipients as favorites in your account to more easily reuse them for subsequent SafeBox exchanges. To achieve this, toggle the or icon (respectively non favorite/favorite) at the left of the recipient.
Tip: To edit a Favorite, simply add it as a recipient of the current SafeBox and click on the pencil icon. Changes will be remembered even if you remove the Favorite afterwards from the recipient list.
Note: A favorite can be configured to be always added as a Privileged Participant when you select it as a SafeBox recipient. Simply edit it and enable the option, as depicted below:

To further manage your existing Favorites, click the Favorites button at the top right of the screen.

In the opening window, you will be able to:
  • Add a favorite to the Recipients of the current SafeBox, by clicking on it.
  • Reorder your favorites for your convenience.
  • Remove favorites.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk